top of page

Dance Collaboration

The main project I have been focussed on this year has been my collaboration with a dance student. I took on a dance project because I thought it would make an interesting challenge, which it has been, but only in a good way. The same process of bouncing ideas back and forth is much the same as working with a film collaboration, but in some ways far more liberating because unlike a film where the images are generally set before you get there, choreography is a living breathing changing thing. I was quite nervous that my tendency to count in 6’s and my musical choices would bugger everything but rehearsals have been really great. The dancers are incredible and are already working to give the piece life and shape. A first showing of the ideas thus far is happening on Friday, and while I still need to work on the music a lot more, I am excited for the beginnings of the piece to see the stage. I was very lucky to find such a passionate and receptive collaborator, and am proud to be part of their project.

bottom of page